Edit or deactivate license strategies

Once you’ve created a license strategy, you can edit the strategy title, pricing, or usage details. For channel-based license strategies, you can add channels or remove them from the gratis license as needed. If you no longer use a license strategy, you can deactivate it.

Each edit is saved and visible in Studio Content Manager as a “revision”.

Edit a license strategy

  1. Sign in to Studio Content Manager.
  2. From the left menu, select License management .
  3. To edit a platform strategy, stay on the Platform strategies tab. To edit a channel-based strategy, click the Channel-based strategies tab.
    • To filter the list by strategy title, click the filter bar  and then Strategy title. Enter a strategy title, then click APPLY.
  4. Click the title of the license strategy you want to edit.
  5. Update the title, pricing, or additional details.
  6. Click SAVE.

Add or remove channels from a channel-based strategy

If you’ve created a channel-based license strategy that offers certain channels a gratis license, you can add or remove channels from the license strategy.

  1. Sign in to Studio Content Manager.
  2. From the left menu, select License management .
  3. Click the Channel-based strategies tab.
  4. Click the license strategy you want to add channels to or remove channels from.
    • To add channels, click ADD CHANNELS. Paste the channel IDs and click ADD.
    • To remove channels, select the channels and click REMOVE CHANNELS from the top banner. If you mistakenly removed a channel, you can select the channel and click UNDO REMOVE from the top banner.
  5. Click SAVE.
  6. To complete the update, click CONFIRM.

Deactivate a license strategy

  1. Sign in to Studio Content Manager.
  2. From the left menu, select License management .
  3. To deactivate a platform license strategy, stay on the Platform strategies tab. To deactivate a channel-based license strategy, click the Channel-based strategies tab
    • To filter the list by strategy title, click the filter bar  and then Strategy title. Enter a strategy title, then click APPLY.
  4. Select the license strategy you want to deactivate.
  5. Click DEACTIVATE LICENSE STRATEGY.
To deactivate a license strategy on an asset, follow the steps here.

View revision history

Edits you make to your license strategies are saved and visible as “revisions” in Studio Content Manager. To view a record of the revisions made to a license strategy, select Adjusted pricing or History. You can click each revision row to view more details about the channels added or removed when each revision was made.

Click the dropdown arrow from the History tab to see the details of the updated license strategy: 

  • Revisions: see the details of the change, whether it was an update to the existing license strategy, or selection of a new one
  • Title | Price: see the title and pricing level of a license strategy
  • Start date and end date: indicate when a given license strategy was assigned to an asset and when it was changed or deactivated. The end date is not the same as the License duration.
  • Acquisitions: indicate the number of licenses purchased in the storefront
  • Usages: indicate how many times the licensed content was actually used in a video
  • Status: current status of the license strategy; can indicate “current terms” or “previous terms”

In the Adjusted pricing tab, you will see more details such as user info or the timestamp of when a change was made. If a strategy was impacted by a publisher pricing adjustment, the revised strategy will contain the publisher’s name in its title.

License strategy revisions can’t be deleted. Revisions that have 0 acquisitions won’t be displayed. 

Was this helpful?

How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
4826688254925080933